It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 5/23/22

Good morning and happy Monday.

Who is ready for a long weekend this weekend? I know that I am!

I didn’t plan it this way but I got to thinking about what I was reading and these are some of my favorites. This week is going to be favorite authors week.

This week I’m going to read a spooky tale about surviving your murder, a book about finding lost people, and a manga by the master of horror!

What are you reading this week?

sword divider

How to Survive Your Murder- Danielle Valentine

59762456Alice Lawrence is the sole witness in her sisterโ€™s murder trial.

And in the year since Claireโ€™s death, Aliceโ€™s life has completely fallen apart. Her parents have gotten divorced, sheโ€™s moved into an apartment that smells like bologna, and she is being forced to face her sisterโ€™s killer and a courtroom full of people who doubt what she saw in the corn maze a year prior.

Claire was an all-American girl, beautiful and bubbly, and a theater star. Alice was a nerd who dreamed of becoming a forensic pathologist and would rather stay at home to watch her favorite horror movies than party. Despite their differences, they were bonded by sisterhood and were each otherโ€™s best friends.

Until Claire was taken away from her.

On the first day of the murder trial, as Alice prepares to give her testimony, she is knocked out by a Sidney Prescott look-alike in the courthouse bathroom. When she wakes up, it is Halloween morning a year earlier, the same day Claire was murdered. Alice has until midnight to save her sister and find the real killer before he claims another victim.

IMG_2250

sword divider

A History of Wild Places- Shea Ernshaw

56898223Travis Wren has an unusual talent for locating missing people. Hired by families as a last resort, he requires only a single object to find the person who has vanished. When he takes on the case of Maggie St. Jamesโ€”a well-known author of dark, macabre childrenโ€™s booksโ€”heโ€™s led to a place many believed to be only a legend.

Called “Pastoral,” this reclusive community was founded in the 1970s by like-minded people searching for a simpler way of life. By all accounts, the commune shouldnโ€™t exist anymore and soon after Travis stumbles upon itโ€ฆ he disappears. Just like Maggie St. James.

Years later, Theo, a lifelong member of Pastoral, discovers Travisโ€™s abandoned truck beyond the border of the community. No one is allowed in or out, not when thereโ€™s a risk of bringing a diseaseโ€”rotโ€”into Pastoral. Unraveling the mystery of what happened reveals secrets that Theo, his wife, Calla, and her sister, Bee, keep from one another. Secrets that prove their perfect, isolated world isnโ€™t as safe as they believedโ€”and that darkness takes many forms.

Hauntingly beautiful, hypnotic, and bewitching,ย A History of Wild Placesย is a story about fairy tales, our fear of the dark, and losing yourself within the wilderness of your mind.

IMG_2250

sword divider

Tomie- Junji Ito

29632242. sx318

Tomie Kawakami is a femme fatale with long black hair and a beauty mark just under her left eye. She can seduce nearly any man, and drive them to murder as well, even though the victim is often Tomie herself. While one lover seeks to keep her for himself, another grows terrified of the immortal succubus. But soon they realize that no matter how many times they kill her, the world will never be free of Tomie.

IMG_2250

sword divider

stacy


Comments

8 responses to “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? 5/23/22”

  1. I loved A History of Wild Places! Iโ€™m currently reading As Seen on TV.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m excited to start that one later today ๐Ÿ™‚

      I heard that As Seen on TV was so cute! I hope you’re loving it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was really cute! I’ll be posting my review tomorrow. Hope you enjoy it!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Just read your review and awesome review! It sounds like the cutest hallmark movie book. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. agreatreviewer Avatar
    agreatreviewer

    OOoh very nice! I am super excited for Danielle’s new name and new book! Lol! I still have to finish her last series she wrote and maybe a standalone as well? Trying to remember but I have loved every book I’ve read of hers to date and this one sounds awesome! I still need to read Shea’s adult book as well! Hope you enjoy all your reads this week!

    Here’s my Monday Wrap-up

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Danielle’s new book is really good. I’m almost done, here’s hoping that I get to finish it tonight.

      The Merciless series was amazing and that’s what caught my attention about that author! I’m thinking she turned that standalone haunted novel into a series.

      Seems as if you are loving that Hades series by St. Clair. I really need to start that series.

      Have a great day!!
      โ™ฅโ™ฅ

      Like

      1. agreatreviewer Avatar
        agreatreviewer

        I am enjoying the Hades and Persephone series! The author is coming to my library next week, so I was reading up to Hades’ second book which I will buy there. I was reading the series in the “recommended” reading order, essentially Persephone’s POV of the book then Hades’ POV of the same book before moving forward. Definitely makes it easier to move along in the series since now I’ll read book 2 from Hades’ POV, then move onto Persephone’s 3 book wait for Hades’ 3rd book then get the 4th Persephone book after that! Lol. It sounds more complicated after typing all that out than it really is! Lol!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh, wow. How cool! I love when authors make visits to Libraries. It doesn’t happen often and I wish they would tour libraries more often.
        It does sound complicated but it also makes a lot of sense.

        Like

Leave a comment