*Blog Tour- Review + Giveaway* The Ruin of Kings- Jenn Lyons

Welcome to our official stop on the blog our. We hope you enjoy!!

39863237     There are the old stories. And then there’s what actually happens.

Kihrin is a bastard orphan who grew up on storybook tales of long-lost princes and grand quests. When he is claimed against his will as the long-lost son of a treasonous prince, Kihrin finds that being a long-lost prince isn’t what the storybooks promised.

Far from living the dream, Kihrin finds himself practically a prisoner, at the mercy of his new family’s power plays and ambitions. He also discovers that the storybooks have lied about a lot of other things things, too: dragons, demons, gods, prophecies, true love, and how the hero always wins.

Then again, maybe he’s not the hero, for Kihrin isn’t destined to save the empire.

He’s destined to destroy it . . .

Uniting the worldbuilding of a Brandon Sanderson with the storytelling verve of a Patrick Rothfuss, debut author Jenn Lyons delivers an entirely new and captivating fantasy epic. Prepare to meet the genre’s next star.

My Review:
”The mountain will bury you in lava, the molten rocks will be your tomb. You will spend eternity screaming in despair and pain. You will never know peace.”

Imagine everything you’ve been told and taught was a total fabrication. And the only way you learn the truth is with total destruction and gore. This is exactly how Kihrin learns the truth. That maybe he isn’t supposed to be that hero but the villain who sets the world ablaze.

The characters were really built up and you learn so much about them in such a short period of time. The backstories were something that continued to grow and I don’t think we’re quite done yet. But the different pov’s was a tad bit confusing and takes some time to get used to but once you make it things start to get better.

The Ruin of Kings is a slow-burn complex epic fantasy with fascinating world building and a dark, deep storyline that is rather unique. Fantasy lovers will rejoice at this said-be hero who was truly meant for villainy.

Beware of the Demon who screams at you in all caps!!

Giveaway is open to International. | Must be 13+ to Enter
 

– 2 Winners will receive an Exclusive THE RUIN OF KINGS by Jenn Lyons Gift Box (ARC, A Dragon Pint Glass and a Dragon Bookmark).

– 2 Winners will receive a Copy of  THE RUIN OF KINGS by Jenn Lyons . 
Click on the link below to enter. Good Luck!
maxresdefault
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
 

jenn lyons     Jenn Lyons lives in Atlanta, Georgia, with her husband, three cats, and a lot of opinions on anything from the Sumerian creation myths to the correct way to make a martini. At various points in her life, she has wanted to be an archaeologist, anthropologist, architect, diamond cutter, fashion illustrator, graphic designer, or Batman. Turning from such obvious trades, she is now a video game producer by day, and spends her evenings writing science fiction and fantasy. When not writing, she can be founding debating the Oxford comma and Joss Whedon’s oeuvre at various local coffee shops.

PHOTO CONTENT FROM JENN LYONS

WEBSITE: https://jennlyons.com/

Thank you Jean Book Nerd, Tor, and Jenn Lyons for allowing us to be a part of this amazing blog tour. Click on the button below to see more about this tour and information about upcoming tours.

Blog Tour Schedule:

WEEK ONE
JANUARY 28th MONDAY JeanBookNerd INTERVIEW
JANUARY 28th MONDAY Little Bookish Thoughts REVIEW & INTERVIEW
JANUARY 29th TUESDAY Insane About Books REVIEW
JANUARY 29th TUESDAY Lauren’s Bookshelf REVIEW & EXCERPT
JANUARY 30th WEDNESDAY J.R.’s Book Reviews REVIEW
JANUARY 30th WEDNESDAY Pages and Pugs REVIEW & TENS LIST
JANUARY 31st THURSDAY A Court of Coffee and Books REVIEW
JANUARY 31st THURSDAY Books of Teacups REVIEW
FEBRUARY 1st FRIDAY Adventures Thru Wonderland REVIEW
FEBRUARY 1st FRIDAY TTC Books and More GUEST POST
WEEK TWO
FEBRUARY 4th MONDAY BookHounds YA INTERVIEW
FEBRUARY 4th MONDAY Under the Book Cover REVIEW
FEBRUARY 5th TUESDAY Movies, Shows, & Books EXCERPT
FEBRUARY 5th TUESDAY A Bronx Latina Reads REVIEW
FEBRUARY 6th WEDNESDAY Nay’s Pink Bookshelf REVIEW
FEBRUARY 6th WEDNESDAY Polish & Paperbacks REVIEW
FEBRUARY 7th THURSDAY Wishful Endings REVIEW & INTERVIEW
FEBRUARY 7th THURSDAY Port Jericho REVIEW & TENS LIST
FEBRUARY 8th FRIDAY A Dream Within a Dream EXCERPT
FEBRUARY 8th FRIDAY Book Briefs REVIEW
FEBRUARY 8th FRIDAY Here’s to Happy Endings REVIEW
Advertisements

*Review* Cadaver & Queen- Alisa Kwitney

35140600    When Lizzie Lavenza enrolled at Ingold as its first female medical student, she knew she wouldn’t have an easy time. From class demands to being an outsider among her male cohorts, she’ll have to go above and beyond to prove herself. So when she stumbles across what appears to be a faulty Bio-mechanical–one of the mechanized cadavers created to service the school–she jumps at the chance to fix it and get ahead in the program.

Only this Bio-mechanical isn’t like the others. Where they are usually empty-minded and perfectly obedient, this one seems to have thoughts, feelings… and self-awareness.

Soon Lizzie realizes that it is Victor Frankenstein–a former student who died under mysterious circumstances. Victor, it seems, still has a spark of human intelligence inside him, along with memories of things he discovered before his untimely death.. .and a suspicion that he was murdered to keep that information from getting out. Suddenly Lizzie finds herself intertwined in dark secrets and sabotage that put her life, and the lives of Victor and their friends, in danger. But Lizzie’s determined to succeed–even if that means fighting an enemy who threatens the entire British Empire.

My Review:

“Arrogance is what thick people call the truth when they don’t like it.”

This is Tales from the Crypt meets Stalking Jack the Ripper with deeper and darker secrets. I love Tales from the Crypt and it’s still one of my favorite shows to watch. Stalking Jack the Ripper was one of those books I hated and it drove me crazy. So this got stuck right in the middle for me.

The cover and spine for this book are stunning. It definitely is the draw to capturing your attention. The synopsis hits you because of the feminist retelling. Even though it doesn’t read like a retelling of Frankenstein much but of another book and tv show.

Elizabeth, Victor, and Henry do make their appearances and the banter between them was great but the story in between could get kind of stuffy. I felt bored with some of this and the twists really didn’t shock me. I expected more but got mediocre.

Cadaver & Queen was an okay read but I don’t see myself reading it again. It definitely doesn’t need a second book and I’m probably going to skip that one.

Beware of the beautiful cover!!

IMG_2250

stacy

*Review* The Price Guide to the Occult- Leslye Walton

35879387   From the author of The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender comes a haunting maelstrom of magic and murder in the lush, moody Pacific Northwest.

When Rona Blackburn landed on Anathema Island more than a century ago, her otherworldly skills might have benefited friendlier neighbors. Guilt and fear instead led the island’s original eight settlers to burn “the witch” out of her home. So Rona cursed them. Fast-forward one hundred–some years: All Nor Blackburn wants is to live an unremarkable teenage life. She has reason to hope: First, her supernatural powers, if they can be called that, are unexceptional. Second, her love life is nonexistent, which means she might escape the other perverse side effect of the matriarch’s backfiring curse, too. But then a mysterious book comes out, promising to cast any spell for the right price. Nor senses a storm coming and is pretty sure she’ll be smack in the eye of it. In her second novel, Leslye Walton spins a dark, mesmerizing tale of a girl stumbling along the path toward self-acceptance and first love, even as the Price Guide’s malevolent author — Nor’s own mother — looms and threatens to strangle any hope for happiness.

My Review:

“Nor’s little room was lit by a solitary candle. Nor licked her finger and passed it over the flame. The flame danced. It was beautiful; so beautiful it was easy to forget that it could be dangerous as well. Or perhaps it seemed beautiful because it was dangerous. Just like the storm that raged outside her room. Just like her mother.”

The words were so beautifully written and flowed like a classic novel. The cover and red pages are creepy yet alluring. And the Witches story in between clawed their way into your brain and made you think twice about who to trust.

I wanted to be terrified with this story and fuel the fire that is my love for Witches but it was kind of a letdown. It started off very good and creepy but it lost me when Fern popped back up into town. And the end of the last chapter before the epilogue had me shrugging and screaming, that’s it? That end was the worst part of all. But the end of the epilogue put a tad bit more faith into this book.

I really hope there is a second book to this one because Nor’s story is far from over.

I would recommend this book, given its flaws. The atmospheric presence is definitely worth it.

IMG_2250

stacy

*Arc Review* Your Own Worst Enemy- Gordon Jack

38563620   Three candidates, three platforms, and a whirlwind of social media, gaffes, and protests makes for a ridiculous and hilarious political circus in Gordon Jack’s second highly satirical novel. Perfect for fans of Andrew Smith and Frank Portman.
They say that with great power comes great responsibility. Unless you’re student body president at Lincoln High School. Then you get all the responsibility but none of the power. And the three candidates running for president know all about that.

Stacey Wynn is the front-runner, but she didn’t count on Julia Romero entering this race. Julia is challenging Stacey for the title while also putting the moves on Stacey’s campaign adviser and only friend, Brian. And then there is Tony Guo, the way outsider. Tony is usually oblivious to the school’s political campaigning, as he’s oblivious to anything that isn’t about getting high and drinking all the Space Cow chocolate milk he can stomach. But when his favorite beverage is banned at school, a freshman political “mastermind” convinces Tony to become the voice of the little guy. But what kind of voice is that, really?

If this were an ordinary high school election, the winner would be whichever candidate was the most popular. But this year, each candidate may have to sink to a new low to win an election that could change the course of…very little. 

 

My Review: 

“Here’s some change I can believe in.
Make America baked again.”

I devoured this book in less than a day. I could not put this down. It was clever and witty that I found myself laughing so hard that tears formed. But it also contained some serious subjects that made you look at the real world and what we’re currently dealing with. This was still a really fun read.

It makes you reminisce about the clown show we had to deal with with the last election. This was a lot more enjoyable since this was fictitious. The banter between the opponents was hilarious and a tad bit out there. But they were all enjoyable in their own way.

Tony has to be my favorite character. I mean, come on! I’ll never look at the bear-shaped honey bottle the same way ever again.

Gordon Jack is a genius. To take something that is still a tough issue to discuss and brings this creative pieces into our lives is beyond astronomical. And to perfectly get Stacey’s attitude and personality onto paper was amazing. We are quite the special species and this book will fill you in more.

With more boner jokes than you ever could imagine and a deep heartfelt look at unity, this book is definitely a must read. Maybe people will learn how to be beautiful human beings towards one another.

IMG_2250