Bookexpo day 1 and start of my NYC trip

So I’ve been waiting weeks for this adventure to begin since my co blogger is out from Illinois and see all my book friends for days and have dinner all that fun stuff. But day starts off day 1 at 8 am since takes a little bit to take bus from nj to NYC. I picked up my co blogger at her hotel and we were off just only diffrence was diffrent bus line than I was used to and I have a fear of public trans so unsure of the whole thing, but going in is better since last stop is the port authority. So we’re heading to javitz unsure how the day will pan out since it says Bea but the show floor won’t he open so it’s either said pavilion/ ABA something librarians. Ended up being mass sale of books at a cheap price. I wish I had money to buy them, but sadly I’m saving for a new trip in 2 weeks. So our friends which met up with few others all said lets get food and hit the strand and books of wonder.  Saw that and always amazing to stop at them since bow for signed copies and the strand for cheap hard covers, again I didn’t buy anything but my friend Laura found 2 hp books for 2 dollars that’s insane!! After that did 1 dollar pizza of 2 bro’s pizza it’s amazing and love NYC pizza. Last but not least most of us were bloggers so we headed to bloggerbound a event with some authors and people of industry and bloggers of course and how to make your blog better. First panel was called quiet ya and how to make smaller less known books to bring them to light. Myself I read a lot of the big named with occasional smaller but I wanted to learn how get even more attention to a smaller named book thru social media. But I asked what sort of hashtags might help for less known books and thanks to that I received a bag of books one being that book summer book of short stories edited by Stephanie Perkins. And another can remember is radius of us. 

Next panel was just a group of bloggers and how to get your name out there. That was fun but I sorta knew a lot of the things so was a refresher course. Then we took a break of cupcakes and the big event is the the bag of arcs which i grabbed a few contemporys I didn’t take a photo was to tired and last but not least trivia with zoraida Cordova. We were split up by tables I was in between 2 so was hard which team deside since i knew most at both tables but ended up on the team that my co blogger wasn’t which was a team of laura and forget rest of team just know them from signings. We named ourselves the bookish brujas just like for zoraida’s book. And we made a good team I didn’t know 2 much but 2 questions everyone was stumped and I was able guess them which one was past blogger bound author and her title is one word about 2 people who steal a car which was run by Kody keplinger. So round 1 ends and were second place. Round 2 was harder but last few answers we guessed which my friend Laura guessed a few and another girl did we ended up being perfect and retallalied and we were # 1 by 2 points last was certain awards and year author received them. Was pure guessing game but we survived and won a bag of arcs which I had chosen Anthology of love triangles and one other book. So from there leaving can see lightning and rush against time to make it back with out getting wet. We made it but didn’t have dinner :(. So just went back and really went to sleep. That was my first day but I knew I was for in a ton with the real opening of book expo. ~~~~JUSTIN 

Leave a Reply

