The Last Bar In NYC- Brian Michels

IMG_06711

“My job was to serve drinks. If you were in need of company or if you were feeling down, I’d do my absolute best to be there for you and listen. If you needed me to talk, I could talk, tell you about the weather: stay cool if the world’s got you down because things always get better, it may be storming today but the rain can’t last forever.”

Being from the East Coast, I always swore that every single person who grew up there had a story or a lifetime to tell. And Brian has quite the story.

Have you ever met someone or read something from someone that was so interesting that you just wanted to live inside of their head just for an hour? This is how I felt during and after reading this. I felt he had a lot more to tell and I’m all ears if he does. Seriously just want to have a cup of coffee with him just to chat.

There was a point in my life where I was a bartender and I thought this was how I was going to live my life and I was fine with that. You were so much more than someone who slings drinks. You were a confidante and a familiar face to someone who needed that during a tough time in their lives or just needed a buddy to joke around with. But my life was not even as close to being as interesting as Brian’s. He has everyone beat by a million miles.

I was sucked into the world of booze and street life from page one and I couldn’t stop reading. When something grabs my attention so hard like this, it’s a huge disappointment when life gets in the way and you can’t finish it in one sitting. If I could have, I would have.

Growing up in NY, you have to be a smart ass with an attitude and I think the narrator does a good job of laying down the law with his brave face and kma attitude. All through his life, he has been surrounded by booze. It was at home, following his dad around and right before school. It was inevitable that he chose a career doing what he knows best.

As time goes on and job after job leaves him behind. He must keep his chin up and find something that makes him feel worthy of this life. Instead of working for someone, maybe his true calling is working for himself. Opening up a bar in an area that has one on every corner is a tough decision to make. But with a spirit like his, nothing but the greatest can come from it. I like to think that he found his happy ending in life.

Brian Michels created a story of bright ideas and an even brighter history of what was close to him. He loves what he does and created quite the colorful story for NYC. You felt the passion he has for this city and makes you want to have that same emotion towards what you have in your life. There was no complaining about life from day to day, he made his life better without backing down. And we must admire someone with a spirit as great as that.

Friends and I will be in NY for book conferences and fun. I think a pub crawl in honor of Brian is called for.

Cheers!!
5/5

3 thoughts on “The Last Bar In NYC- Brian Michels

Leave a Reply

