Vampire Academy: 10th Anniversary Edition- Richelle Mead

“If you weren’t so psychotic, you’d be fun to hang around.”


My friend, Justin is in love with this series and this author. I think when I told him that I have never read anything by her, he had a crap attack. Mead, Mead, Mead, Mead, Mead is all I have heard and I finally cracked under the pressure.

Looking at the previous covers for this book, I was turned away. But with the rerelease for the anniversary, this cover is absolutely gorgeous. So, when I found this I had to buy it. Then if I didn’t read it soon enough that same friend would have fainted. 

No fainting and/or attacks need to happen. Seeeee!!!

When you start a book off with,“I felt her fear before I heard her screams” you know you’re in for quite the ride. You read alittle more and you get an entire range of sights and sounds. High school academy dramarama, cattiness, harsh rumors and even hot firey forbidden romance. Hehehe!

This anniversary edition includes the original novel and then bonus stories for some of your favorite characters. You feel that you’re let into a secret society, knighted by a sword and sworn to secrecy. 

Rose and Lissa are on the run. They ran away from the academy and it’s been two years. Going that long without being caught comes with over the shoulder consequences. Until you have a guardian who makes it his personal business to bring back the last remaining heir to the Dragomir name. 

Guardian Dimitri finds those two, taking all leads seriously and brings them back. 

Lissa is welcomed back while Rose faces the harsh punishment of taking Lissa away from safe shelter and school. Rose is on house arrest and only allowed to attend school and training with the long haired gorgeous one Dimitri. *sound the tension alarm*

Lissas popularity plummeted once she was gone. Mia, a nobody took her ex-bf and makes her life and Roses a living hell. Never double cross any petty girl named Mia. 

The more training that happens, the more Roses heart speeds up, words get caught in her throat and she gets sweaty. Do we detect reciprocal affection?

As forbiddeness blooms, evil and bloody things appear for Lissa to find and it sends her into shock mode. But a secret that no one should know about can damage peoples lives as we know it.

Will life ever get back to normal for these two?

This was surprisingly good. I’m shocked. I enjoyed the story and the tension. I even texted a friend to find out about two characters hooking up and he won’t spill. But you can’t write fantastic tension like that and let it go. 

What stopped this from being five stars was Mia. Her pettiness over a boy was too over the top and kind of annoying.

If you are apprehensive about this book, give it a try. I was and I’m glad I have a great friend lead me in the right direction. 

4/5

Leave a Reply

