Full Of Beans- Jennifer Holm

“I had never held so much money in my whole life. I felt like Daddy Warbucks. Except with hair.”

Received from my blogger partner JT. He received it at ALA Orlando 2016!! Thanks!!

My first experience with Holm was with The Fourteenth Goldfish and it was so different and I was dying to read more of her work. 

This might be one of the first Middle grade historical fiction that I have ever read and I can’t say that I was disappointed, but I wasn’t captured like I was with her other book.

1934 was a rough year for the United States and even worse for Key West, Florida. The Great Depression was in full swing and it was every man, woman and child for themselves. Roosevelt wasn’t doing much to help out either. 

Beans, best marble player in town and part of a gang that everyone wanted to be apart of must take in a full load. His dad leaves for Jersey as he looks for a job and makes him man of the house. Taking care of his two siblings and his mom.

He picks through trash for cand and even starts to do some underhanded stuff with his brother to help his family out. 

Delivering alcohol to local businesses for a few pennies. Anything to help his family. 

As the town starts to go downhill, Roosevelt sends some people down there to liven up the community and bring back booming business and tourists. Trying to save that entire community from despair. 

Very historically profound and at times funny, this is a tale of growth and love. 

These kids had to give up a lot in order to make it during that horrid time. 

It was an okay story, but I felt that I was missing something. Pieces didn’t connect very well and felt like it jumped too much and way too fast for my tastes. But this could also be from me having a book hangover thanks to SJM. 

And let’s not forget that Hemingway dig.

3/5 

Leave a Reply

