A Court Of Thorns And Roses- Sarah J Maas 

“A kiss for each day we’d spent apart, a kiss for every wound and terror, a kiss for the ink etched into my flesh, and for all the days we would be together after this. Days, perhaps, that I no longer deserved. But I have myself again to that fire, threw myself into it, into him, and let myself burn.”

What is wrong with me? Seriously? Okay, don’t answer that. Why the heck did I wait so long to read this? I bought this knowing that every single one of my friends adored this. Hell, JT and I even named our blog after this and it still took me this long. This has sat in my closet and sat, begging and pleading for me to read it. Now I’m completely in love. 

This book was like a glass of fine wine that had only gotten better with each page. Book two is screaming my name and I’m running through a field to get to it. 

SJM paints a very vivid picture of her very well developed characters, the lay of all the lands and even the tiny little things that wouldn’t matter. Well she makes them matter and you are left flabbergasted at their beauty. 

Feyre is left to fend for herself and the rest of her family after her mother dies and her father loses all their money making the dumbest move. Not only does he lose everything, they come back to get him and make sure he is never able to care for his family again. This makes them move to a tiny cottage in the middle of the woods. Fayre has to learn to grow up fast to feed her family. She teaches herself how to hunt and provide the supplies needed for survival. 

That is until she makes one of the gravest mistakes of her life and kills a wolf. It’s not just any wolf but a faerie wolf. She not only kills him, but she skins him for his pelts to sell at the market.

Eating dinner a wolf tears off the door to the cottage and demands to know who killed the wolf. Feyre tells the truth and she has two options. One: Be slaughtered like he think shes deserves Two: Live with the other wolves beyond the wall. 

Her dad forces her into a decision and her life changes completely as she spends her life beyond with the wolves…..

This is one hell of a great book. I would have never guessed that I would be so enthralled over a re-telling of beauty and the beast. The way she sets up every scene and surprises you at every corner. My heart almost beat out of my chest quite a few times and I didn’t want it to end. As the end got closer I died a little inside because there was no more pages to turn. 

Now I know why they call her the Queen. No one ever fucks with the Queen.

5/5

2 thoughts on “A Court Of Thorns And Roses- Sarah J Maas 

Leave a Reply

