Stalking Jack The Ripper- Kerri Maniscalco

“I placed my thumb and forefinger on the icy flesh, spreading it taut above the breastbone as Uncle had showed me.”
Received at BEA Chicago 2016!!
Me being the magnificent weirdo that I am, I know a lot about the Jack The Ripper slayings. With books and documentaries, I think I know more than I probably should. What always comes to mind is that you should leave this case alone. This person is long dead and you’ll never figure it out. Saucy Jack will always remain anonymous.
This book had a lot of potential with its rare acceptance of letting a woman help with medical examinations of the deceased. But sadly that was the best part about this.
“I saw the pale foot sticking out from beneath the nearest shroud. I wish I were disgusted by the sight. Instead, I found myself grossly fascinated, longing to lift the sheet and take a closer look.”
1888 Whitechapel, London. Women are at home drinking tea and finding suitors, men are doing all the work and Saucy Jack is making his slayings known. Ladies of the night keep popping up butchered.
Audrey Rose and her Uncle examine the bodies to help solve these cases. Thomas, a guy in Uncles classes also shows up to help, he sees things that no normal person would notice and he’s swept away by the beauty and differentness of Audrey. *eye roll* *cough cough* Oh! Boy!
Audrey’s dad wants her to stop her tomfoolery and be an actual lady who doesn’t come home covered in blood. She prefers sneaking out of the house to assist her uncle.
With bloody letters and these crimes getting more gruesome, guesses lead to shocked findings and Audrey is next on the list of this Jack.
My first complaint is can we stop writing books about the Ripper slayings? It’s over done and just leave his tale alone. If you have more information to contribute, then write away.
My second complaint is why the heck do you have to write a book with all that sexual tension? And yes I did roll my eyes.
I should have known better than to pick something up that’s endorsed by James Patterson or how he wants to be called Jimmy. Give me a break.
Really couldn’t connect to these dimwitted characters and it was very obvious who the killer really was. At first glance, a few leads pop into your mind and then little by little you rule them out. By the second half of the book, I knew exactly who it was and it was highly disappointed.
It seemed to drag on and on and I wound up skimming the last fifty pages. It really wasn’t worth my time. But I seem to be one of the only people who think so.
Stay Saucy dear readers!!

1/5 *Stacy*

Leave a Reply

